MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Hello..I'm new!

gulfcoastruth

Hello All, and Best Birthday Wishes to April ladies too!

I am a "young", now single, 55 yr old lady with 2 grown children and 2 grandchildren.

I am fairly new to the Gulf Coast area, near Pensacola. I lived in the mountains of Montana for several years, and learned to prepare for deep snow and frequent power-outages.

Here, we must prepare for hurricanes and tornados. I was not here for hurricane Ivan, but have heard lots of stories. Most everyone was without power for 3 weeks. Trucks came to neighborhoods with water and ice, but there were long lines.

I have only recently made the leap from thinking about preparing for 3 week power-outages, to preparing for long-term survival.

I live alone on an acre of land, that is about half lawn and half heavily wooded. I live close to beaches and rivers. My son and his family are about 2 min away.

I have many questions, and have already gotten alot of tips and ideas from all of you contributing to this site. I am probably like alot of people, in that time seems short, and the challenge is overwhelming. I so look forward to learning from you and I certainly need your encouragement!

Just finding a group of wise women survivors is a gift! You are already a great blessing to me!

Looking forward to getting to know you!

Ruth

Hello All, and Best Birthday Wishes to April ladies too!

I am a "young", now single, 55 yr old lady with 2 grown children and 2 grandchildren.

Looking forward to getting to know you!

Ruth

Welcome! I guess I would fall into your line of "young" Ruth! I can tell you, you have come to the right place.....everyone here will glady answer any question, and I mean any question you may have. Again! Welcome! :bouquet:

Ruth, So glad you found us, it is nice that our ranks are growing!!

I am young too 62 last Dec. and I have just moved to new house on an acre, however I did not move as far as you did and what a climate change.