MrsSurvival Discussion Forums

Dehydrating Peas

Jeepers

I dehydrated peas this week. This is my first time drying them and they were easy to do but took a long time. But, after you load the trays and plug it in you can forget about them for hours. I got one of those cheapy dehydrators from Wal-Mart just to try. It worked fine and was only about $35.00. I don’t know how long it will last but it served its purpose and then some.

I dried each batch for about 9 hours. I probably over did it by an hour but I wanted to be real sure they were dry. They are. I’m going to store them away for my long term 'there is nothing else to eat' preps.

I bought frozen peas. They were 2 pound packages. One package will fill 4 of the trays. I did 6 of the 2 pound packages. So, 12 pounds of frozen peas filled 3 quart jars of dried peas. The jars are filled to the top. I’m storing mine in ½ gallon jars but I measured them in regular quart jars. Or, 12 pounds of frozen peas netted almost 3 pounds of dried peas. Actually, 2.12 pounds to be exact. It would probably be 3 pounds but you will lose some because the peas are round and they roll…a lot.

I learned some tricks along the way:

1. When you use the dehydrator for the first time, before you fill your trays, plug it in to make sure it actually works. If/when it doesn’t work, go buy a new one. Put the new lid on the already filled trays then box up the new trays with the old lid and return that. Sigh.

2. The bottom of the unit gets very hot. I wasn’t comfortable using it on my countertop. I used a flat wooden TV tray I already had. If I hadn’t had that I’d have put a piece of plywood or cardboard under it.

3. They will fall through the tray. Line it with wax paper. Don’t go out and buy new screen wire/nylon. The stuff stinks and probably isn’t food safe anyway. Wax paper works fine.